More news on Lithuania in English!

March 7, 2008 at 7:00 pm 3 comments

LRT LogoOne more source of the Lithuanian news in English is available on the Net.  The site covers a wide range of topics.  Further more it comes from a very a respectable source – the National Translator.  Hence, have another opportunity to get know more about the Lithuanian current events in English from the LRT!

Entry filed under: Baltic States, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Northern Europe, Politics.

Women in Lithuania: more educated, earn less but their role is increasing Ed Lucas to Lithuanians – ‘if you don’t watch out Russia’s going to have you for breakfast’

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Mykolas  |  March 14, 2008 at 5:18 am

    Thanks for posting the LRT site. Very good content.
    I previously posted a congratulatory comment about your Blog
    so I won’t repeat myself other than to say ‘Bravo’ !

    I visited Lithuania not long ago. I was beginning to wonder if
    there was anyone under the age of 45 who was not currently
    studying the English Language!

    I would be very pleased to read any opinions from you about
    what are the major motivating factors for such wide spread interest in English by Lithuanians today.
    in the English language

    Reply
  • 2. Ruslanas Iržikevičius  |  March 14, 2008 at 3:28 pm

    Dear Mykolas,

    Thank you for your kind words, I appreciate it very much! I am very glad that you enjoy reading this blog.

    Actually you have suggested an interesting topic and it would be difficult to write about it in few words. Hence, I will present a deeper analysis on this blog in the near future, since I can use my own experience in that.

    Your observation is absolutely correct! I guess a simple explanation to that is that 45s and above are keen to learn English because most of them have a very poor command of the language, and need a lot of catching up to do! (Just look at this blog’s grammar :). Well, I have to say that I never studied English at School or University, but I will expand on it in one of those posts).

    However, I would say that the Lithuanians of this generation could do much more in mastering English. The matter of fact is that the Russian, as a second language, is still a very dominant in this age group. But I will write about it also.

    Thank you for suggesting a topic and all the best!

    Regards,

    Reply
  • 3. Mykolas  |  March 17, 2008 at 2:47 am

    Ruslanas,

    Your command of the English language is near perfect. I don’t know if you have ever had the opprtunity to visit America. If you haven’t already done so, I can assure you that amongst the many millions of people who were taught English under the guidance of our public education sytem, few have the ability to write as well as you do.

    I could only hope that my command of the Lithuanian languge might some day be as accomplished. But I am already 47 years
    old and fear that I may not live long enough to conqeur “Lietuviskai”!

    I have an amusing story about my family in Lietuva that you might find amusing. More than ten years ago I was visiting with my wife’s cousin and her husband. At that time they had two
    young girls who were not of age to attend school. During our
    conversations the adults would excuse themselves and suddenly start speaking Russian. This was done to prevent the children from listening to the matters being discussed. Now the two girls are teenagers. And have both been studying English for several years. When they wish to prevent their parents from listening to their conversations they switch to English!
    Any father of two young and beautiful teenage girls is cursed
    with having to keep a watchfull eye on his daughters. Out of concern for their safety and well being. Now, both Father and
    Mother are in a hurry to learn English as quickly as possible!

    I’m looking forward to your comment’s on the subject mentioned in our previous posts.

    Mykolas

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Recent Posts

Categories

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Pages

Blog Stats

  • 149,915 hits

